FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS OVER $35!

Our Ingredients and Our Facility

Facility

We want you to feel as safe eating Red Plate Foods as you do the food you prepare in your own kitchen. Our kitchen facility is a dedicated space, free of the top eight major allergens (gluten/wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish and shellfish) as well as corn, mustard and sesame seeds.  Water bottles are the only outside drink that comes into the bakery and even those are washed before they are set down.

Of course, you also want to know specifics about our ingredients.  Details are below, organized by allergen.

Gluten/Wheat Free

Ingredients – None used in Red Plate products.  Flours are sourced from a mill with a separate facility free of top 8 major allergens including gluten, certified gluten free.  Sugars, spices and other ingredients are from suppliers who provide us with allergen statements on their spec sheets.  We also periodically sample incoming ingredients for gluten.

Red Plate Kitchen – Not yet certified GF.  Why?  We go to incredible lengths to make sure our facility is GF, however, it will cost thousands of dollars for this certification.  As a small start up business, this is an expense we’re not yet ready to incur, but it’s the highest on our priority list of certifications.

Dairy Free
Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products.  Suppliers provide spec sheets stating no major allergens including dairy are potential cross contaminates.

Soy Free

Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products.  Suppliers provide spec sheets stating no major allergens including soy are potential cross contaminates.

Egg Free

Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products.  Suppliers provide spec sheets stating no major allergens including eggs are potential cross contaminates.

Tree Nut Free

Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products, including coconut products.  Suppliers provide spec sheets stating no major allergens including tree ntus are potential cross contaminates.

Peanut Free

Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products.  Suppliers provide spec sheets stating no major allergens including peanuts are potential cross contaminates.

Fish/Shellfish Free

Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products.  Suppliers provide spec sheets stating no major allergens including fish and shellfish are potential cross contaminates.

Corn Free

Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products.  We mix our own baking powder from scratch to eliminate any possibility of cornstarch presence. NOTE: Red Plate baked goods do contain xanthan gum, grown on a corn substrate. Our suppliers assure us that all traces of corn are absent from the xanthan gum product.  However, we do not test for corn presence and strongly recommend consulting your allergist for advice if you have a severe corn allergy prior to consuming Red Plate baked goods.

Corn is not an FDA top 8 major food allergen, therefore, our suppliers are not required to list any possible cross contamination of corn in the spec sheets we receive.

Mustard & Sesame Seed Free

Ingredients – none used in Red Plate products.  Sesame and mustard are not FDA top 8 major food allergens, therefore, our suppliers are not required to list any possible cross contamination in the spec sheets we receive.

Fats and Oils
We get a lot of questions about fats and oils. To get the in-depth explanation of what we use, check out the Fats & Oils blog post.  

For the quick rundown: we use sustainably sourced Palm Kernel Oil from Spectrum Organics. Palm kernel oil also shares similar health benefits to those of coconut oil, with little incidence of allergic reaction.  The benefits of palm kernel oil include being high in lauric acid and composed of medium chain fatty acids.  It also does not oxidize at our baking temperatures, making it a healthier fat choice. Our canola oil is also certified non-GMO. 

GMO Free
We don’t feed our family GMO products and that commitment extends to our Red Plate family of customers, too. We do our best to use organic ingredients whenever possible. For ingredients that are not organic, we use low risk ingredients like cane sugars (instead of beet) and require either spec sheets or a statement from the manufacturer verifying the ingredient is GMO free.

Vegan
Not all special diets are allergy diets – and those choosing food for ethical or overall health reasons deserve to be welcomed to the table, too.  That’s why Red Plate baked goods are made with vegan sweeteners and no animal products.  Our sugars come from a supplier who provides spec sheets stating the ingredient’s vegan status.  (For those of you who don’t know why cane sugars may not be be vegan, it’s because they can be processed using bone char.)

Facebookpinterestlinkedinrssmail